Osho on Trust

Osho, from his book, From Unconsciousness to Consciousness:

“As far as I’m concerned, I trust everybody, even those who have betrayed me. I still trust them, because my trust is unconditional. It does not depend on you, it depends on me. If you choose to betray, that is your business, but you cannot destroy my trust in you. Do you see the point? Because I trust unconditionally, you cannot destroy it; but if there are conditions, then certainly you can destroy it — you don’t fulfill the conditions and you have destroyed the trust. But trust with conditions is a bargain, it is not trust. Trust can only be unconditional, and its source is within me. It does not depend on you or your behavior or action. Even if you killed me, my trust in you would remain the same. You betrayed yourself, really; you fell, really, in your own eyes. But for me you remain the same person.”

3 thoughts on “Osho on Trust”

  1. A very different teacher put a very different question about trust which is: why should you trust at all ? Why should you trust your self in the first place. Is the conditioned me to be trusted? and how about the other chap, is he not also conditioned? So the question of trust appears to be subsidiary. The question, then, is what prevents one to think clearly and act truthfully independant of circumstances.
    A teacher in self knowledge will never dis-engage himself from his responsibility towards a disciple. He is extremely aware that the truthfulness of his words and behavior are absolutely crucial as they awaken a same qualitative response in the student.

    Like

  2. Because we are both so clever and so gullible at the same time, and this is part of our conditioning, we get bogged into that question of trust. Then it is my unconditional trust vs. your conditional trust, which may all amount to some sort of spiritual bla-bla. And here I am, left with the untrustworthy guru and the untrusting disciple. We are two.
    But if both the teacher and the student earnestly enquire into the whole question of truth, it is one and the same movement. The teacher may initiate, but he and the student join as one in the inquiry. There is no duplicity involved. This is the beauty of this process of shared responsibility when the teacher and the taught are one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

