the most beautiful smile

alone at Christmastime
feeling okay at first
but then waves come over
and drown me in water
I wish for a boy
who just isn’t here
I wish for a touch
that would make all the fear
of being alone
go away

then I wonder
if dreams really matter
then I ask myself
what is it that’s
driving you away
from just holding a place
a space for the ones
who can’t see
are you wrapped up
in your own
little schemes
making dreams
out of things
that have nothing to do
with your dreams
come back in
come back to me

waking up
I wish for the hand
that I held onto that night
to not just take flight
but to keep holding on
past the ending of the song
it’s enough to make
everything right

Leave a Reply

